promoting the unwanted, redheaded stepchild that is individual liberty

So This is Goodbye

In Uncategorized on May 18, 2010 at 11:33 pm

This Saturday, I will officially make the transition from professional student to career professional. Okay, that’s not quite true. I actually plan to prolong my misery by spending one more year in Syracuse, New York, pursuing my master’s in television, radio and film.

As my short-lived career as a Joplin Globe blogger comes to an end, I’ve decided to reflect on the many things I have learned while floating about in the blogosphere:

  • First and foremost, check your facts, check your facts, and then check your facts. I should have learned this lesson a long time ago when I would argue with my father and his only rebuttal was to ask me to “cite my sources.”
  • It’s human nature to form an opinion, and then seek out facts/information in support of that opinion while ignoring contradictory evidence; “What’s that? I can’t hear you — la, la, la, la!”
  • Bloggers are arrogant.
  • Our opinion really doesn’t matter.
  • People like political identity — it makes them feel safe.
  • Mainstream media lies (OK, I already knew this one).
  • Generational discrimination, although subtle, is more rampant than gender discrimination.

And there you have it: My quarter-of-a-century years’ worth of wisdom.

Peace and Liberty.

  1. Jessica,

    What Youth deemed crystal, Age finds out was dew. — Robert Browning

    Best of luck!

    Jim

  2. Good luck in your future endeavors!

  3. Yep, good to ‘know’ you. Just wish it could have been carnally. You got those bloggers pegged! Good luck!

  4. Good luck in all your future endeavors.

  5. thanks for showing the chomsky video and the other new not usually seen in this part of the country. very appreciated

  6. Jessica, thanks for your contributions to our blog site. You will be missed. Good luck and keep in touch.

  7. No wonder Joplin is the way it is. All the talented people flee as quickly as possible. Anyway, I enjoyed your work. Give ’em hell in New York.

  8. Jessica,

    As said in my old profession, “Fair Winds and Following Seas”. I personally will miss your blog and thoughts. I hope you continue to remain engaged in your future endeavors. You can make a difference.

    I must comment on Generational discrimination, however. I have not heard that one before. First of all disagreement is not necessarily discrimination. You and I have disagreed many times herein but I have never called you a “young …” or have you refered to me (at least publicly) as an “old ….”.

    In terms of generational differences I can make this observation based on my now approaching 3/4 century of life.

    When I was 25 the world to me seemed very linear. We were going from point A to point B, socially, politically, environmentally, etc. The line was sometimes in my view going “up” in terms of improvement or “down”, but we seemed to always be headed somewhere different than the past, for better or for worse.

    Now I tend to agree with Chinese philosophy in that change is circular. Given enough time and patience we repeat old arguments and to a degree try old remedies. Your anathema, War, is but one example.

    I am currently reading a book (“God’s Secretaries”) about the writing of the King James Bible. Listen to the arguments between the Church of England and Puritans. Who has a corner on the market for understanding God’s word? Now listen to today’s religious disputes.

    In many ways those arguments reflect current Constitutional debate over words written only two centuries ago (as opposed to Biblical words spanning thousands of years)

    Take a very simple and very American word such as liberty. You, Duane and I will disagree on the nuances of that word and how it should be applied in society. And that is just one word.

    Facts change every minute today. How much oil IN FACT is gushing into the Gulf as you read this for example.

    It is indeed rare however, in my experience, where IDEAS are really new, never before imagined or considered by human beings. The only place I have found such “new” facts/ideas is in the realm of science. Relativity and String Therory are indeed new facts/ideas however the ideas of how they should be applied to our lives remain pretty stale and circular to me. Pose that question to any Christian or atheist and see what you hear back.

    I would love to be around in 50 years and see what you write at that time. Will you remain linear or become more aware of circularity.

    Good luck,

    Anson

  9. Anson,

    “God’s Secretaries” is an interesting choice. I had not heard of it, so I looked up a review.

    Your circularity analogy is apt, but perhaps equally important is context, and in the case of the King James version of the bible the context is medieval history. I certainly hope that humanity does not repeat the Dark Ages, although I do not discount the possibility in this age of WMD’s.

    If your interest in the period has not flagged after finishing your book, and if you have not already read it, I recommend William Manchester’s “A World Lit Only By Fire”. It is a truly remarkable work that covers the four centuries preceding the King James work. At it’s end, for dessert, it contains one of history’s most remarkable sea stories.

    Jim

  10. To all,

    Does anyone other than Jim know the difference between a sea story and a fairy tale.

    A fairly tale begins with “Now once upon a time..” and a sea stroy with “Now this is NO sh..”.

    Usually the same prinicples involved, just different ways of presenting them.

    Anson

  11. Anson,

    Actually, I didn’t mean it in the colloquial form. It is based on considerable fact. If you have the same reaction as I did, it will blow your socks off. 😉

    Jim

Leave a Reply

